A look through the lens of a global nomad

First post in Ramadan: Color photographs from the streets of Amman with the X-Pro 1

I’ve been taking my Fuji  X-Pro 1 everywhere I go, and I can’t stress enough how much better my shoulders feel already. It’s a pleasure to shoot with this camera and although I’m just stuck with my 18mm lens at the moment it keeps on forcing me to try and get closer. In this post I’m posting some photos I shot in the past month in Amman, although the first photo was taken in Wadi Rum in a recent trip I took down there. I’ll be moving down to the desert very soon for a couple of months where I will be producing a feature film , I’ll also be doing the on-set photography so expect an abundance of photos from the desert in the near future. I wish I can post some of the photos from our test shoot but you’ll have to wait a bit to see those…embargos are a normal part of any working photographer’s life.

An expected occurrence when you drive at the middle of the night in the desert.

Been dropping by Al-Asayel stables with my cousin, thought the light here was beautiful. Got to love horses too, such majestic creatures.

Soon enough I plan to photograph a whole series on the businesses that line up the Desert Highway.

They saw the camera and asked me to take a portrait while I was walking around Al-Abdali’s Friday market

I’ve been going downtown before Iftar and making photos for about an hour every other day, the frames that follow are from those ventures.

Street Kababs

Cacti season

I wonder if these mannequins are influenced by The Terminator

Textures in a hilly city

Pre Iftar tomato shopping, I don’t think the guy on the left is too happy with me taking a photo. The vegetable and fruit market is one of the most vibrant parts of downtown.

Seems like everyone is reading, sleeping or on their mobile phones before Iftar.

Prepping the Coffee

Two generations at the mosque

As the sun starts setting Amman becomes quite beautiful

Then when the night falls a different transformation takes place…more street kababs.

The tailor’s district

Blue & Yellow

More people with cellphones and newspapers

Last call for buying the next day’s supplies

Moments of contemplation

Time to close the barbershop. Sponge Bob is everywhere.

The remnants of a full day at the fruit and vegetable market. I’ve learned to hold my breath well every time I pass this spot.

These last two photos were taken before Ramadan, but I really like how the camera handled the light and color, so thought I’d share them.

This Mercedes model is an icon in the Arab world.

I’ll try my best to post a follow up to this blog post tomorrow with black and white photos taken in the same period as the photos above. So far i’m really loving the X-Pro 1, i’ve learned how to deal with some of it’s kinks and I really look forward to getting more lenses and also eventually testing my Leica lenses on it too…I just need to get the adapter for them, maybe Fuji Middle East will be kind enough to lend me one and a the two other lenses that Fuji make :)

4 responses

  1. i have the 18 and the 35 and the 18 is my favorite of the two. in spite of all the mixed reviews

    August 9, 2012 at 7:27 pm

  2. great photos, thank you. well done, creative use of available light. they evoke some great emotions cause I used to live in Addis Ababa for some years and no w back to Germany again but I’m missing the street life so much …

    August 10, 2012 at 11:03 am

  3. Sanj

    I completely agree about the 18mm, everyone slates it but I use it 99% of the time, i use the 35 1% of the time, and the 60mm….erm, it looks nice sitting on the shelve! Great photos, you’ve made me realise that this camera shoots great colour, not just b&w. Keep up the good work.

    August 10, 2012 at 8:17 pm

  4. lmajali

    Thanks for the comments. I know that even if I do get other lenses i’ll end up using the 18mm the most. I’ve been shooting with a 28mm lens on my Leica for years and other than the 35mm I used to use on it i don’t think i’d like another focal length for the type of photography I do. Yet i’d like to use this camera more on assignments and for portraits too, and having different perspectives helps. As for the color rendition on the camera i really enjoy the files i’m seeing and I haven’t even touched the raw function yet, but i’m sure i’ll be able to pull a bit more from those files.

    August 11, 2012 at 1:43 am

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 40 other followers