A look through the lens of a global nomad

From California to the Jordanian Desert : Color frames with the Fuji X-Pro1

In the previous entry I posted some black and white images made with the Fuji X-Pro1, as promised here are some color images made with that camera. When photographing in the street with a the M6 I always faced the issue of what film to load and usually my default choice would be to put in some B&W film, occasionally i’d load some color film and hit the streets. Being used to thinking in shooting in B&W I never got the chance to train my eye as much with a rangefinder in terms of capturing color photos that are good, and its been a blessing having the X-Pro as its been bridging that gap for me. I’m starting to find myself more comfortable with shooting color, and i’m happy with the files that the camera has been giving me. The photos below take you from Union Station in Los Angeles, to the streets of Amman, and finally to the majestic desert of Wadi Rum.

I think this is my favorite capture in this whole series, as the doors to the metro closed he had a moment to himself.

This brother in orange was dancing on a pole in the train I was on, he kept on dancing while another train passed.

I was too close and he caught me, but it turned out to be a good shot anyways.

Trying to see how the lens handles the sun hitting it. Highland Park

While I was getting some tacos on the NE side of town, I turned around and captured the moment that made him look like he just puked.

Hollywood….Hollywood

Waiting to cross…one of the last photos I made in LA

A little dog in Jabal Al Weibdeh

At an event that was held by the Scandinavian community in Amman, couldn’t resist the light.

Getting ready for a long day’s work

I think he was already getting bored…hats galore

Late night watch repair

and an early breakfast at the famous Salahaldin bakery

The tailor in Jabal Al Weibdeh, he’s been there for ages…shot this frame after a long conversation about the neighborhood

Glad I checked my tires before a long drive, turned out it needed to be patched up and I got this photo.

Definitely didn’t expect this in the bathroom of a hotel in the Dead Sea.

Visited the stables, thinking of going back to horseback riding.

The camera holds good sharpness even in a panning shot

The token pigeon flock over the Amman sky as the sun sets

A view of downtown Amman from Jabal Amman.

While in Wadi Rum, I had to test out the panoramic feature of the X-Pro, i’m still trying to get used to it, but i’m happy with how the camera figures it out.

I usually don’t do landscape type shots, but thought i’d share a beautiful sunset.

The camera’s low light capabilities still surprise me, shot this handheld and the light on the rock is coming from an iphone.

One response

  1. Eduard

    Your shots are great

    August 6, 2012 at 10:29 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers