A look through the lens of a global nomad

Taking the Leica M9 for a Stroll in Downtown Amman

I’ve been on a hiatus from the blog for a while, I’ve been traveling all around as usual, working on a number of exciting projects. Thousands of photos have been taken since my last post and i’m slowly going through a bunch of different edits that I hope to publish on the blog soon.  As you can see I have also changed the theme for the blog and this will allow me to display my photos larger than anytime before. Looking to get a new website up too, so keep an eye out.

I’d like to dedicate this post to Emad (pictured above) ,  a long time collaborator of mine, who for the past 5 years or so scanned my negatives and developed my color and medium format film in Amman. I just found out today that he passed away 3 weeks ago, he was one of the few people that understood what I was doing with my photos and has helped me share my film photos on this blog. I needed to clear my mind for a minute so I headed downtown to shoot some photos.

Thanks to the good people at Leica, I have a M9 on loan for a couple of days, and it was time to put it to the tests on the streets of Amman. All I can say is that I can’t wait to own this camera one day.

So here is a selection of what caught my attention this evening.

13 responses

  1. Hermano, you are so talented! i love the pictures, and how the blog looks like now. i speacially love the one with the man and the kitten :D. I also love the one you took in the market, it reminds me of the markets here in méxico city. I´d like to read all the signs and letters on the pictures, one day, I promise i´ll speak and write arabic. Thanks for letting us know more about your city! PAZ Y AMOR !

    November 30, 2010 at 12:26 am

  2. Amazing pictures, with wonderful content! You’re so talented.
    As for your friend, may his soul rest in peace.

    November 30, 2010 at 1:35 am

  3. Thanks for putting these images up. There are some very interesting ones with plenty of colour and atmosphere.

    November 30, 2010 at 1:43 am

  4. absolutely beautiful pictures.. i think this is the first time i see downtown with so much colour… brilliant new blog look.. keep em coming.. kisses xxxx

    November 30, 2010 at 10:21 am

  5. Dan

    sorry those pictures do not talk to me at all.
    My eyes just wander past too much detail.
    In composition less is more. I recommend to get yourself a copy of John Berger’s ‘Ways of seeing’.
    And technically there is so much more potential in the Leica lenses. Keep at it. Practice makes perfect

    November 30, 2010 at 11:34 am

    • lmajali

      Dan, thanks for your advice, i’ll keep at it and i’ll keep on practicing.

      November 30, 2010 at 2:54 pm

  6. KJ

    Really great photos there. Ah them Leicas…

    May your friend’s soul rest in peace.

    November 30, 2010 at 2:03 pm

  7. Mirvat

    These are truly incredible.

    November 30, 2010 at 7:13 pm

  8. Ameen

    DAMN! That was refreshing! I envy you that M9!

    Great work :-)

    December 5, 2010 at 10:57 am

  9. yourboyblue

    I really like these, Laith. I think your understanding of colour is excellent. But, I gotta ask you, how do you get such clear shots at night? Are you using a flash cuz I can tell from the lack of noise it’s not a high ISO and there’s no way it’s a 2″ exposure.

    December 15, 2010 at 9:13 am

  10. Tuce

    Beautiful. I especially love the environmental shots. A lot of familiar places, but I haven’t recently been there at night, so this was new.

    December 21, 2010 at 11:02 pm

  11. Enjoyed your photos. I have quite a few photos of downtown Amman on retroscap.es. Check them out. More similar photos to come soon.

    February 1, 2011 at 11:36 am

  12. I love the picture of the man with a kitten — they sort of look alike, which is weird! He also has an interesting but creepy expression on his face.

    February 17, 2011 at 11:31 pm

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 43 other followers